One big hit from last summer was the Ginger Daiquiri. A really enjoyable citrus-rum-ginger chilled masterpiece. The secret ingredient was homemade ginger syrup detailed here. It was made for the daiquiri but worked equally well to make up homemade ginger ale or a cola-like drink when mixed with Aveena Amaro. Even with all these uses, I never finished a batch quick enough to feel comfortable with the last bit in the bottle. I dumped out about as much as I consumed. That got me thinking: The cocktail is just a vehicle for getting alcohol in the system by way of the mouth. Various flavor ingredients work to make the mouth time pleasurable. Does it really matter if the flavor compounds originate within a syrup or a liquor base? Not to the mouth, at least not unless one of the flavors is off because the base has gone bad. Why not just put the flavor compounds into the liquor so they keep longer thereby lowering overall cost and spreading out enjoyment? Done:

Ginger Infused Rum

  • 8 oz of peeled and chopped fresh ginger
  • 1/2 oz crystallized ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp crushed Cardamon pods
  • 12 peppercorns
  • 75 cl of white rum

Combine ingredients and allow to steep for ____ weeks.

I’ll get back to you on how long to let it soak, but I’m thinking at least until school is out. I’ll probably add some lime zest this weekend when I have time to process a few of the little guys.

Note: the crystallized ginger was added after I read that the people who make Domaine de Canton liqueur use both root and crystal ginger in their mix.

Note 2: I did add the zest of one lime yesterday (May 17)

