As summer approaces I’m obbsessed again with finding a way to enjoy Campari. Loyal readers will recall that Amateur Cocktail Gal enjoys a Campari and soda on the back porch whereas this author does not like. I enjoy a Negroni but that is pretty hard drinking for the leisurely pace of back yard lounge time. I’ve rededicated myslef to finding an ehjoyable Campari drink to enjoy with the spouse. I have had my ear to the ground over the winter and collected several recipes that we will try over the summer. I’m starting tonight with an attempt that approximates several drinks. No name for it yet because it isn’t quite settled.

  • 1-1/2 oz Gin
  • 1/2 oz Campari
  • 1-1/2 oz blood orange juice

Shake with ice and strain. Garnish with an orange zest, or flame an orange peel on to the drink.

Beautiful color, and I think a great base on which a more complex drink could be built. This one isn’t quite interesting enough to stand on its own. It needs something a little sweet and a little herbal. One half ounce of sweet vermouth, Benedictine or Chartreuse may be the key. The South Beach did it with the addition of some Amaretto. A dash of acidity from some lime juice would also help. Updates to follow –

