I’d been turning the Beet infused vodka thing over in my head a week or so ago. What vegetal flavor would compliment some of the drinks I like? I’m not sure exactly when it came to me, but Celery Root struck me as a pleasant flavor that might work. Cucumber vodka seems to be the rage now. But man, that is subtle. Why not celery? Adding celery root to mashed potatoes gives an enjoyable, earthy, complimentary flavor to the potatoes. I also like parboiled, shredded celery root as part of a salad.

My local organic grocery store keeps a good selection of this kind of thing so I headed out. Lucy Brennan’s Beet Infused Vodka recipe seemed like a good model to follow for my root vegetable of choice. I make the beet vodka in half batches – 12 oz of peeled, diced beets in 500 cc of vodka. I followed that for the celery root.

After three days, I strained (mesh sieve then coffee filter) and bottled. The vodka had taken on a light brown tinge. It also had a wonderful celery aroma. After a day in the refrigerator, I noticed a cloudy percipitate in the bottom of the bottle. I assumed it was some protein molecules, or maybe something like tartaric acid in wine. I’ve been decanting around it, but suppose I could run it through a coffee filter again and get rid of it.

I’ve only tried it in one drink, but think I may have found a home for it. I played a little with the proportions, but haven’t noticed a big difference in the resulting drinks:

Celery Root Infused Vodka and Tonic

  • 1 1/2 oz celery root infused vodka (you could go to 2 oz)
  • 1 oz citrus juice
  • 1/2 oz 2:1 simpe syrup (3/4 to 1 oz 1:1)
  • 4 – 5 oz tonic water.

Build over ice in a rocks glass, stir.

Very nice. Some mild vegetale taste without the force gin would bring to the drink. It would be fun to find another vegetable or herb flavor to add to the infusion that would compliment the celery. Chartruese maybe?

I’ll have to study on that.

