After last weeks failures, I decided to go back to basics. I had to work Saturday night, so no drinking. Tonight my time is my own. I had picked up some Appleton white rum after watching the Three Sheets episode in Jamaica. Seemed like a good time to open it up. I like a plain daiquiri. I’ve also decided that whatever the drink is, I like it dry, i.e. not sweet. Thus my sour recipe of 1-1/2 oz base liquor, 1 oz citrus and 1/2 oz 2:1 simple syrup. Sometimes I think the half ounce of simple syrup is too much (or maybe it’s too much citrus). Time to play with that.

I still have an almost full bottle of Fee Brothers Orgeat opened on July 4th. David Embury suggest substituting this for the simple syrup in a Daiquiri to make it a Daiquiri Deluxe. Easy enough. Shake with ice and you have a very pleasant dry before dinner drink. I tend to think Orgeat works better with brown spirits. I should try the same recipe with an aged rum, kind of like a Mai Tai.

Another favorite twist on the basic daiquiri around these parts is the Ginger Daiquiri. The recipe for this came from a William Hamilton column in the NY Times. It is a great drink, but his recipe calls for home made ginger syrup (and some Cointreau). Making syrup requires planning. Wouldn’t it be great to have a pre-made source for ginger that would keep? Rhetorical question. Domaine de Canton’s Ginger Liqueur has made an appearance in our local state run liquor store. A recently purchased bottle was pressed into service.

The Ginger Liqueur didn’t taste particularly sweet, so I figured I’d need something to add some sweetness. I combined the Daiquiri Deluxe and Ginger Daiquiri to come up with a winner. It took about three tries to get the proportions right for our tastes.

The ACG Ginger Daiquiri Deluxe

  • 1 oz white rum
  • 1 oz Ginger Liqueur
  • 1 oz lime juice
  • 1/3 oz Orgeat syrup (actually 3/4 oz for two drinks)

Shake and strain.

A most excellent drink. The Fee Brothers Orgeat has a little spiciness of its own. For my last round I added one homemade maraschino cherry to each (fresh pitted cherries soaked in Maraschino liqueur for two weeks). These settle to the bottom to add an interesting look. I find the Maraschino in a Hemingway Daiquiri overpowering. The little bit the cherry brings to this drink adds an extra, subtle flavor note.

Cheers

PS- when wine shipping weather returns this fall, I’m going to put in an order to Monin for some of their Ginger syrup. I’ll put that through the paces making these closer to the recipe Mr. Hamilton gives. I might also try it in the Sicilian Cola.

