I mentioned in the Lavender Syrup post that I had too much Lavender after my recent collecting trip. It was a bit of a chore to gather and I really didn’t want to let it go to waste. What to do? It smelled great, and I do like Gin…hey, Lavender Infused Gin. Why not? Infusing Vodka seems to be all the rage. One of the first articles in Imbibe! covered the topic. I’ve come across several articles on the web and numerous blog postings (just Google “Infused Vodka” to get started) and even see local bars using their own vodka infusions in cocktails. I knew it was mainstream though when my older brother started telling me about his homemade Lychee infused vodka.

I’ve played around with it a little in the past – tea infused vodka (Assam) and cognac (Double Earl Gray), and some ginger infused cognac. These were small batches. I couldn’t get into the flavors. I have some of each left and will probably come back to them. But for now, I want something more in line with my current drinking (it ain’t cognac and it ain’t vodka).

A little googling on “Lavender infused vodka” turned up a couple of recipes. All of them were pretty restrained with the amount of lavender to use. I started putting two tablespoonfuls of lavender florets into 75 cl of gin, but it just didn’t seem like enough. I added some whole flowers, with the stalks trimmed to the first row of flowers, until I had a total of about 1/2 cup in the bottle. I watched (and smelled) it through the day. A very pretty faint purple color came over the gin, while the purple flowers slowly turned green. After about 6 hours I strained it and then ran that liquid through a coffee filter to clean up the last little bits. That’s a Bombay bottle it’s soaking in.

I now have a bottle of lavender scented gin. No citrus in the house today, but I do have a bottle of Rose’s Lime Juice. Gimet it is-

1 oz lavender infused gin

1 oz Boodles gin

1/2 oz Rose’s Lime juice

1/2 oz 2:1 simple syrup

Stirred with ice and strained.

Verdict: Not too good. Notice I diluted the infused gin with some straigt gin. Even with this the lavender gave a medicinal edge that just wasn’t enjoyable.

Next attempt will be either a G&T, a Collins or maybe a Corpse Reviver. Updates to follow.

